DLR POETRY NOW 2008, Thursday 3rd to Sunday 6th 2008 D¨²n Laoghaire, Ireland go to homepage

you are here> homepage /The Irish Times Poetry Now Award 2011 - Shortlist Announced


The Irish Times

Poetry Now Award 2011

Shortlist Announced

dlr Poetry Now ¨C International Poetry Festival

Thursday 24 th to Sunday 27 th March 2011


The Irish Times Poetry Now Award is presented annually to the author of the best single volume of poems published by an Irish poet in the previous year. The shortlist for the Irish Times Poetry Now Award 2011 is:

Sara Berkeley - The View From Here (Gallery Books)

Ciaran Carson - Until Before After (Gallery Books)

Dermot Healy - A Fool¡¯s Errand (Gallery Books)

Seamus Heaney - Human Chain (Faber and Faber)

Paul Muldoon - Maggot (Faber and Faber)


Sara Berkeley was born in Dublin in 1967 and has published several poetry collections and a novel. She lives in San Francisco.


Ciaran Carson was born in Belfast in 1948. His eleven collections of poems have won prizes including the T.S. Eliot and Forward Awards. He is Professor of Poetry and Director of the Seamus Heaney Centre at Queen's University, Belfast.


Dermot Healy , born in Westmeath in 1947, is a novelist and playwright as well as a poet. The Gallery Press has published four of his poetry collections since 1992. 


Seamus Heaney was born in Derry in 1939 and has published 12 poetry collections, as well as several books of criticism and translations. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1995 and was a previous winner of The Irish Times Poetry Now Award in 2007.


Paul Muldoon was born in Armagh in 1951 and won the 2003 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry. Since 1987 he has lived in the US, where he is the Howard G.B. Clark '21 Professor at Princeton University.


Previous winners of the Irish Times Poetry Now Award have included Derek Mahon, Harry Clifton, Seamus Heaney, Dorothy Molloy and Sin¨¦ad Morrissey. The prize-winner will receive €5,000.

The judges for The Irish Times Poetry Now Award 2011 are Borb ¨¢ la Farag ό , Brian Lynch and Leanne O¡¯Sullivan.


The winner will be announced in The Irish Times on Saturday 26 th of March and an award ceremony will be held at the dlr Poetry Now Festival 2011 which runs from the 24 th ¨C 27 th of March. The festival programme will be available on www.poetrynow.ie from mid-February.


"Since 2005 the Irish Times dlr Poetry Now Award has been a lens through which the rich and varied field of new poetry in Ireland has come into focus. This award makes a real difference to Irish poetry and we at dlr Poetry Now are thrilled to announce the 2011 shortlist, which showcases the finest poetry collections of the last year. We congratulate the five poets and their publishers, we thank The Irish Times for its continued commitment to the award, and we thank our judges also. We look forward to hearing their final decision on March 26th." 

Belinda McKeon, dlr Poetry Now Curator


For more information please contact:

Caroline Wynne, Artscope, Project Manager dlr Poetry Now 2011

[email protected] or +353 (1) 505 9582






home | back | next | top